Tags

, , , , , ,

       

Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Creme.  Marshmallow Fluff.

Not something I use often, as in “rarely!”, as in . . . I can only think of one time in my cooking years that I’ve ever used either one! 🙂  Specifically, for an awesome cashew caramel fudge that I made for my special guy several years ago.

And not something I ever plan to use again.  It’s full of chemicals and “non-food”, and besides that – I’ve got something better now! 🙂

I find that my brain has lately been noting and keeping track of various different elements related to marshmallow creme.

Several months before Christmas, I read a healthy makeover of the “back of the box” Marshmallow Fluff fudge on Cheeseslave’s blog.  This makeover involved making your own homemade marshmallow fluff, using an egg white or two, and it looked so easy!  But I never got around to making fudge for Christmas. 😦  Info was noted however (and bookmarked).

Over the intervening time, I’ve read several other recipes for making marshmallow creme at home. For one thing, I’ve discovered that it’s basically the same thing as Italian Meringue, but uses corn syrup instead of hot sugar syrup. Noted again.

I already knew that the recipe I grew up with for making pancake syrup, with one small tweak, could be successfully substituted for corn syrup (see recipe below).  I only recently found out that what we’d been making all these years is basically homemade invert syrup! Again, noted (with glee! love it when I find out I’ve been doing something awesome without even knowing it! :D).

I’ve also lately been noting several interesting recipes on food blogs I follow and through Pinterest that call for marshmallow fluff. One I’ll share later because it’s what I used some of my marshmallow creme for last nite! 🙂

Then, a couple days ago I made up another batch of my wonderful homemade mayonnaise (that I must share with you all another time; it’s SO good!), which left me with some leftover egg whites.

The time was ripe for marshmallow creme! 😀

So I made up a batch of syrup (takes all of about 5 min or so). (see below for the recipe)

And literally whipped up a double batch of marshmallow creme, in about 10 min or so, adapting Cheeseslave’s recipe for “How to Make Marshmallow Fluff Without Corn Syrup“.  It made enough to equal 2 of those 7 oz jars you’d buy in the store!  All for the cost of 2 egg whites, 1 C of organic sugar, 1/2 tsp cream of tartar, a pinch of salt and 1 tsp of vanilla.  Not bad!! 😀

So what was I going to do with all of this marshmallow creme??

One of the recipes I’d read for using “fluff” was Brown Eyed Baker‘s Fruit Dip.  Since I have a whole 3 pound log of cream cheese sitting in my fridge, this was a no brain-er as my first adventure into fluff-dom. 😀   This recipe uses TWO ingredients. It’s super easy to make, and pretty darn good on some sliced apples! The only thing different I did was use my mixer to beat it all together, and added about 1 tsp of fresh lemon juice.

I froze my other “jar” of fluff, and may eventually one of these days venture into the culinary wonders of a  “Fluffernutter” sandwich (which I’ve never had!) and fudge. 🙂 There’s also whoopie pies! and a whole host of freezer pies (so I’ve discovered).

Below are my recipes for the cane syrup and my adaptation of Cheeseslave’s marshmallow fluff recipe.

Invert cane syrup (can be used as a 1:1 substitute for corn syrup)

  • 1 C organic cane sugar (I’ve not used sucanat for this, but it might be acceptable, just with a stronger molasses flavor)
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

Combine all three ingredients in a small saucepan, and heat over medium-high heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture turns clear – which will be about the same time it reaches a rolling boil.

Without stirring, allow mixture to boil for 2 min (3 min would be better at sea level or low altitudes), then turn off heat, cover saucepan tightly and allow to rest for at least 10 min (this will allow the condensation to melt any crystals on the sides of the pan and prevent crystallization of the syrup). Use as needed, store leftovers covered tightly in the fridge.  This has kept for me in the fridge for 3-4 months at least.

This amount made about 9 oz of syrup for me (at over 6000 ft above sea level).  Amount yielded will depend on how long syrup boils, altitude, and humidity.

Homemade Marshmallow Creme (adapted from Cheeseslave’s Marshmallow Fluff)

  • 1 egg white
  • 5 oz homemade invert syrup
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla (optional)

Put egg white and salt into a deep bowl and whip on “high” until fluffy and opaque, just short of “soft peaks”.  Reduce speed to medium and pour syrup into the side of the bowl (away from beaters so it doesn’t splash) while continuing to beat.  Continue to beat for 7-10 min, gradually increasing speed to “high”, as tolerated by mixture (so as not to sling it all over your kitchen!).

When the mixture has reached a marshmallow fluff consistency (yes, it will become thicker and more viscous the longer you whip it), add in vanilla if using.  Beat for a few more minutes to combine and bring fluff back to a fluffy consistency.

Store covered in fridge, this will probably last for a few days.  You can also freeze it, just stir to recombine if it shows separation when defrosted.

